Sanctioned Alberta Tournaments

« Back

2018 YONEX Alberta Series FINALS
Dates: to
Group:Yonex Alberta Series
Category:By Invitation only
City:Calgary, AB
Prize money:$10,000 CDN
Entry deadline:2018-04-20

Venue: Gao Badminton Tao



Qualification Criteria
The 2017-18 Yonex Alberta Series consists of five tournaments and is open to any athlete who is a member of their provincial or national association. The YAS begins with the first event on October 20-22 at the Edison Badminton Centre and concludes with the fifth event (Alberta Closed Provincials) on April 6-8 at the Royal Glenora Club.

Only athletes that represent Alberta and train in Alberta full time will be eligible to compete in the Yonex Alberta Finals.

Fill Procedure
Priority #1 - The winners of each discipline from all the above tournaments will be invited to compete in the “Super 6 Finals”. This will provide a maximum of 6 entries per discipline.

Prioroity #2 - To fill all but one position those players with the best results in three of five tournaments in each discipline will be invited to participate.

Priority #3 - If the six position remains vacant after using Priority #1 and #2, then the sixth and final position will be filled by the Alberta u19 Provincial champion in each event. If the u19 provincial champion was selected using Priority #1 or #2, then the final position will be used using Priority #2.

In doubles or mixed doubles if a player has won multiple events with different partners, the partnership that has played the most together will be selected.

There will be 6 players/teams in each discipline. Teams will be seeded based on final selection position and placed in two boxes for round robin play.

Box A will have seeds 1, 4, 6; while Box B will have seeds 2, 3, 5. Box A winner will play Box B runner up in one semifinal, Box B winner will play Box A runner up in the other semifinal.

Winners will play off for first place, while the losing semi-finalists will compete for third place. Round robin play will be contested Saturday June 9, Semi finals will begin Sunday June 10 at 9 am, the finals will begin Sunday June 10 at 12:00 noon. 

Bonus Prize Money Breakdown
1st $1000
2nd $600
3rd $300
4th $100